Fralick Captures 2017 SNA Sports/WDIIB Coach of the Year Award





Ashland University head coach Robyn Fralick has been named the 2017 SNA Sports/Women's Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year.

Fralick, who is in her second season at the helm of the Eagles, guided her team to an unbeaten record and the 2017 NCAA Division II national championship. Ashland became the first Division II women's basketball team to finish a season at 37-0.

"All college basketball coaches are to be commended for their tireless devotion and sacrifices this season. Accomplishing an undefeated regular season and winning the national championship game takes an outstanding effort from the first day of practice," said Jim Peterson, president of SNA Sports, a leading basketball goal and equipment manufacturer. "SNA Sports is proud to partner with *Women's Division II Bulletin* to recognize Robyn Fralick and all the coaches in Division II college basketball."

Women's Division II Bulletin has named a Coach of the Year every season since 1993-94.



2017 Coach of the Year Robyn Fralick

WDIIB Coach of the Year Winners

- 1994 Luvina Buckley, San Bernardino
- 1995 Amy Ruley, North Dakota St.
- 1996 Jorge Hoehn, UC Davis
- 1997 Gene Roebuck, North Dakota
- 1998 Cindy Stein, Emporia St.
- 1999 Nancy Winstel, Northern Kentucky
- 2000 Curt Bailey, College of St. Rose
- 2001 Jay Sparks, Columbus State
- 2002 Paul Thomas, Cal Poly Pomona
- 2003 Aaron Johnston, South Dakota St.
- 2004 Darcie Vincent, California (Pa.)
- 2005 Ron McHenry, Washburn
- 2006 Dawn Plitzuweit, Grand Valley St.
- 2007 Joe Frager, So. Connecticut
- 2008 Sandra Rushing, Delta State
- 2009 Pam Gohl, Minnesota State
- 2010 Brandon Schneider, Emporia St.
- 2011 Dennis Cox, Clayton St.
- 2012 Jacques Curtis, Shaw
- 2013 Joe Pellicane, Dowling
- 2014 Barbara Stevens, Bentley
- 2015 Jess Strom, California (Pa.)
- 2016 Steve Gomez, Lubbock Christian

Conference Coaches of the Year

California Collegiate

Heidi VanDerveer, UC San Diego

Carolinas

Josh Thompson, King University

Central Atlantic

Kristina Danella, Caldwell

CIAA

AnnMarie Gilbert, Virginia Union

East Coast

Bet Naumovski, Queens (NY)

Great American

Tim Kirby, Harding

Great Lakes Intercollegiate

Robyn Fralick, Ashland

Great Lakes Valley

Rick Stein, Southern Indiana

Great Midwest

Shannon Sword, Ursuline

Great Northwest

Ryan McCarthy, Alaska Anchorage

Gulf South

Carley Kuhns, Valdosta State

Heartland

JJ Rhiel, St. Edward's

Lone Star

Josh Prock, Eastern New Mexico

ΜΙΔΔ

Lane Lord, Pittsburg State

Mountain East

Katie Hine, Notre Dame College

Northeast-10

Barbara Stevens, Bentley

Northern Sun

Karla Nelson, Minn. St. Moorhead

Pacific West

Jarrod Olson, Cal Baptist

Peach Belt

Anita Howard, Columbus State

Pennsylvania

E - Kristy Trn, Shippensburg W - Mark Katarski, Seton Hill

Rocky Mountain

Jim Turgeon, CSU-Pueblo

South Atlantic

Krystal Evans, Lincoln Memorial

SIAC

Sheba Harris, Central State

Sunshine State

Paul Honsinger, Eckerd