McCollum Captures 2017 SNA Sports/DIIB Coach of the Year Award





Northwest Missouri State University head coach Ben McCollum has been named the 2017 SNA Sports/Division II Bulletin Coach of the Year.

McCollum guided his Bearcats to a 35-1 record en route to the 2017 NCAA Division II national championship.

Division II Bulletin has named a Coach of the Year every season since 1991-92. McCollum is the third coach from the state of Missouri to win the honor and fourth from current MIAA member schools.

"All college basketball coaches are to be commended for their tireless devotion and sacrifices this season. Winning the national championship takes an outstanding effort from the first day of practice to the final buzzer," said Jim Peterson, president of SNA Sports, a leading basketball goal and equipment manufacturer. "SNA Sports is proud to partner with *Division II Bulletin* to recognize Ben McCollum and all of the Division II college basketball coaches."



2017 Coach of the Year Ben McCollum

DIIB Coaches of the Year

1992-Jim Thorson, South Dakota St. 1993-Pat Douglass, Cal St. Bakersfield

1994-Stan Spirou, N.H College

1995-Ken Shields, Northern Kentucky

1996-Gary Garner, Fort Hays St.

1997-Jeff Price, Lynn

1998-Bob Williams, UC Davis

1999-Ray Harper, Kentucky Wesleyan

2000-Robert Corn, Missouri Southern

2001-Ray Harper, Kentucky Wesleyan

2002-Mike Dunlap, Metropolitan State

2003-Larry Gipson, Northeastern State

2004-Tony Ingle, Kennesaw State

2005-Jay Lawson, Bentley

2006-Mike Leaf, Winona State

2007-Ron Lievense, Barton

2008-Mike Leaf, Winona State

2009-Ron Niekamp, Findlay

2010-Greg Kamansky, Cal Poly Pomona

2011-Scott Davenport, Bellarmine

2012-Brad Jackson, W. Washington

2013-Derrick Clark, Metro State

2014-Kim Anderson, C. Missouri

2015-Linc Darner, Florida Southern

2016-Tom Billeter, Augustana

Conference Coaches of the Year

California Collegiate

Eric Olen, UC San Diego

Carolinas

Jeremy Currier, Pfeiffer

Central Atlantic

Dan Burke, Wilmington

CIAA

Jay Butler, Virginia Union

East Coast

Charles Marquardt, Molloy

Great American

Kyle Tolin, Arkansas-Monticello

Great Lakes Intercollegiate

Andy Bronkema, Ferris State

Great Lakes Valley

Scott Davenport, Bellarmine

Great Midwest

Greg Zimmerman, Alderson Broaddus

Great Northwest

Tony Dominguez, Western Washington

Gulf South

Mike Helfer, Valdosta State

Heartland

Blake Flickner, Dallas Baptist

Lone Star

Andy Newman, UT Permian Basin

МІД

Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri

Mountain East

Jerrod Calhoun, Fairmont State

Northeast-10

Patrick Beilein, Le Moyne

Northern Sun

Brad Bigler, Southwest Minnesota State

Pacific West

Darren Vorderbruegge, Hawai'i Pacific

Peach Belt

Chris Faulkner, N. Ga; Mark Vanderslice, USC Aiken

Pennsylvania

E - Chris Fite, Shippensburg W - Joe Lombardi, Indiana (Pa.)

Rocky Mountain

Pryor Orser, Colorado School of Mines

South Atlantic

Josh Shertz, Lincoln Memorial

SIAC

Ricky Jackson, Claflin

Sunshine State

Butch Estes, Barry